top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenske Sampson

16 A STORY OF ROUND OBJECTS

Updated: May 29, 2021

OVERLOAD OVERLOAD OVERLOAD I'm working like crazy on this project. I cannot stop. It is so addictive to keep finetuning stuff and going back to what I've already made. Let's say I arrived at 70 hours by now. I think I can finish it within a hundred! Here is my progress so far:

Some things to discuss:

NARRATIVE I feel like I'm passing the bridge and can visualize the whole clip. Space as a theme was a great success! First you have the astronauts losing the toolkit. Then we see the toolkit turning into a stone meteor going through a wormhole. Eventually it feels multidimensional. The meteor changes into all kinds of stuff, primarily a biological cell. Eventually we see humans return and rockets with humans leave. Further in the clip we see astronauts falling and struggling in a funny way. Later on we see an astronaut fall heavily. We see the astronaut drifting into the wormhole. The stone as well. The human meets the stone, which turns into a portal. The astronaut is surrounded by darkness. Time reverses. In the end we see the rocket returning. Humans amazed. The toolkit returns to its owner. The stone is in the hands of the people. Sounds cryptic, but I think it became something very unique and symbolic in many many ways. I'm so happy!! :D MORE ROUND OBJECTS Masking, masking, masking, like there is no tomorrow


One of the things I thought was still a good idea was to keep building on the premise of round objects. They are easy to mask and manipulate, I should be able to find free stuff more easily and can go more crazy. I used a cell, orbs, portals, eggs, 8-bal, flowers, a walnut, yin-yang sign, dragonball, etc. I hope to find more in the future, but hell, it is not as easy as I first thought!


















FRAME MASKING ASTRONAUT


A final lesson for the second part of the video is the flying astronaut through the wormhole. I found the used material on Wikimedia commons. Another great source to check out if you need copyright free material!


Here you see two of the original images (and that I also used in the clip):





Eventually I made this.

I it quite clear that I used the wormhole from the first part of our videoclip. On top of that layer I threw a layer with the astronaut. To only get the astronaut on top I used... Rarara....? MASKING!




Of course it was not as easy as doing round objects, but that was the challenge I was up for. Man, masking can be hell. Again, I think After Effects could be much more efficient in masking. Also a better computer could maybe run some predictions on the material and select it out, because now it is almost mind shattering to have to adjust every single frame! (Don't forget: 30 frames = second) Eventually I added some rotation (too wildly atm). Later the astronaut will move towards the wormhole and shrink into it. (At least, that's the plan!)

I think with this analysis and explanation we can end the second part (min2-4) of the video for now. In the next video I will try to start finishing the video by making the last part! Take lots and lots of care!! Ya BOI XOXOXO


120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page