top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenske Sampson

10 A 6:38 MINUTE CHALLENGE? MORE TECHNIQUE

Updated: May 16, 2021

Aight!! New dish is hot to serve:


We're reaching a rough 2 minutes by now. I'm happy cause I've spend more than 25 hours on this project and results are starting to show. BUT HONESTLY... I'm not the smart guy in the room for picking a song of 6:30min, you think? I want to fill it up and make it supercool, but the truth is that takes a lot of time and I had planned my deadline towards the end of May. +- 100 hours. I wonder if that will be enough to make it qualitative enough. This means I will have to find ways to speed up the process, while still keeping it interesting. I wonder how I will achieve this tbh. A timelapse might be a viable and effective solution? I will make that in the next post! Mark my word or be Jonathan! SOME MORE EXPLANATION ABOUT THE VIDEO ABOVE

recap: in the last episode i discussed the glitch effects, the masking (static) and speed up/reverse. Here I will showcase these features some more with some 'better' examples.

1. THE PINK BALL




How did I achieve this piece of perfection you may ask? I need to credit the maker of this piece here! This person made the biological cell that I used! https://giphy.com/gifs/biology-cell-9PnFIyHye1UVmjzNCM https://www.yas.pizza/ I was just too beautifull to not use. I might have to lose it later but mjeh, want to hold on to this one as long as I can. <3 <3 I masked the layer with the cell and put different background behind it every couple seconds.


Next up is the coolest effect. I'm proud of it. It is the overtake when the background keep changing, but there is also static in the cell itself. To achieve this you need to think a little bit.





In the image above you can see the following 3 three layers: on top: the space background. In the middle (below): the pink orb Below: the glitchy background effect that covers the pink orb sometimes. Now what is special is that the mask of the top layer is:




There is a circle shaped mask that is reversed on the top layer. On the second layer the mask is set like this:

Also circle shape (but not inverted!):

The third layer is pasted underneath. It contains the glitch effect. Nothing more, no mask! If you play them together you get the glitchy combo which is marvelous! Great achievement here! I will try to find more variations on this happy little accident during the next episodes!

2. THE DRAGONBALL EFFECT The effect is that a glowing orb fades into a dragonball and then expands and fades out, returning to its original form underneath.


To do this I put the dragonball layer on top of the orb layer and background layer. There is a mask on the dragonball and orb to seperate them from the background. During the clip i start with opacity 0% for the dragonball, crank it to 100% in the middle and crank it back. Instead here I choose to use the clip twice. I raised opacity from 0 to a 100% in the first clip. Copied it and reversed that copy to smoothen it and make it easier, maybe!





In a later version I make the dragonball expand while it fades out. I do on top of the original dragonball layer with a new layer of the same video so when it fades out the original size fades back in, and the dragonball stays on screen for a little longer. It's a smooth calm effect with great capacity. #proudimadethis :D Check this video at 1:20 for the effect to take place:

3. MASK EXPANSION A final thingy I was experimenting with is fading the background as well by expanding masks over time. This turned out to be a great tool. I only used it once so far, but looking back at it, I will have to use it more often especially when I want to go crazy past 3 to 4 mins. I was thinking of then combing and speeding up this part with the pink orb making everything coming together. fade ins, fade outs, masks, multiple masks (to come?), changing backgrounds, changes in the pink orb, changes into objects, color changes (yet to come!), blending (also to come!), expanding and shrinking (??), rotation (yet to come), movement (??) Ok, how did I do this?


First You mask the pink cell like we did earlier. Next you put your time marker half of the clip of the cell. Then you check the 'clock' icon of the mask and increase the expansion by 1 or 2 to create a keyframe.


Next you go towards the end of the clip and increase the mask expansion that it nearly reaches the edges of the screen. I have to further experiment with putting a layer underneath and how this would work. It seems to work earlier, but I changed it in a later stage. Maybe I should also use this in my final climax! OH YEAH!

So this was again a very long post that I did not anticipate. I hope you enjoyed it. Stay inspired See you soonsss XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOX Adorno in een banenrepubliek xo

75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page