top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenske Sampson

11 Timelapse Fillers Philosophy

Updated: May 25, 2021

Experience of time may form the key of meaning. Playing with time makes me feel like a god!

Here is the timelapse I made for the music video:

… Aren't time lapses beautiful? Don't they make you catch up on time? Feel satisfied? hmmm... Not yet?! Ok. Ok. Lemme show you the time lapse I made. First I looked on the internet and picked some nice pictures! Recap: the theme is space Recap2: normally hubble pictures and NASA are under the public domain, depending on how recent the pictures are and how particular. https://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/hubble/multimedia/index.html https://www.rawpixel.com/board/457046/hubble-images-royalty-free-stock-photos https://archive.org/details/nasa?&sort=-week&page=2 Out of practical considerations I started looking for zip folders with pictures in them. Eventually Google provided me this link: https://esahubble.org/products/media/hst_media_0017/



After downloading these gazorpazorps, I just googled for a timelapse maker, as I did not want to put every picture myself. It would take too much time to put each for a couple of frames in a series. I ended up with this one: https://clideo.com/video-maker First you select the images you want to upload. Next you end up with this screen (below):

From there you can select the time and number of frames. I kept it simple and showed each picture around 0,5. Export it next. I will adjust more of the speed in Adobe Premiere Pro. It is btw perfectly possible to make a timelapse in Premiere Pro You can import all your images and then drag them all together in the timeline of a sequence. Afterwards you can nest them or adjust them each separately to your likings. Here comes the philosophical question: " Is what I made really a time lapse?" the answer is: no! apparently not! I was wrong! (yes, happens!) What I made is a very fast slideshow. A time lapse would be taking for example a picture every hour of a plant growing for days. Afterwards you put all the images together and it looks like a real video progressing really fast. Stupid, silly, but still pretty neat and fullfills its function I would say :)! Below you can see a basic implementation starting around 2,55 min.


How did I do it? I masked the hadouken-figure on top. At the bottom I masked a floor. Behind it you can see the slideshow playing. I will adjust more later on, but this is the basic idea. As a sneak peak I also give you the rest of the video and my progress. Next video I will show more progress and techniques I've been working on! Stay crisp! XOXOXO



107 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page