top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenske Sampson

13 Repetition is the key to Succes!


The pay-of is HUUUGE! DO YOU SEE IT? I have passed the first half of the music video! I think it is started to look very promising. A lot has happened and I feel like I'm progressing. After spending 10 more hours on the videoclip I'm almost reaching 45h. I feel comfortable working with the program by now. The first results are showing. Art might be created!

A TRINITY OF PARTS I have decided to split my videoclip in roughly three to four parts. First part is 0-2 minutes. Second part is 2-4 min. Third part is 4-6,30 min. (part four might be these last 30 second.) The reason I'm doing this is to make it more workable. I have the tendency to constantly start checking or reworking from the beginning on every time I reflect on the videoclip. To counter this tendency I will mainly start working on the second part from now on.


VIDEO ANALYSIS PART 2


recap: earlier I analyzed some techniques I used for the first two minutes of the video clip. It was about fading, speeding, changing opacity, glitch, etc. Let's focus on the second part of the music video: min 2-4 And only the beginning of course, because there is still a lot of work to do here! FALLING ASTRONAUTS recap: Remember I shared the video of the falling astronauts in episode 2 (if I'm not mistaken)??

It inspired me to integrate it into the videoclip. I think it makes a great addition to the space theme. Also I like the fact that in both videos astronauts are making innocent errors. Also after all the heavy transitions and dense material I think this can form like one of the resting points in the song/clip. From here on I can build up to a new climax. Again what I did is download the video from Youtube. Next I imported it into premiere pro. Then in the left video panel I cut out the piece I want, then dragged it onto the timeline below and sped it up with the duration button. Very easy. No dark sorcery here! HADOUKEN COLOUR BURST GLOW FLASHER


One of my more interesting pieces is the Hadouken. recap: In last post I explained briefly how to make see-through copies of the fighter by layer the same video on top and desynching it (x50).


Before:


What I did now is experiment with some color changes on the fighter(s).


After:

Eventually I also added a solarize effect to some of the copies.


Further on I even added a glow effect to all of the clips. It looks mad. After a while it looks like he levels up and starts shooting away, making even more copies and blasts!! The glow increases of time towards the end of the shot. this you can do by making keyframes. (see earlier or simply experiment with the clock icon in Premiere)



Finally I added some strobe effect to it to make it flash bright white a couple of times in between the shots towards the end.

This is how a similar shot makes use of these effects.


Here the flash is not on yet, but you can clearly see the Color Balance (HLS) with adjusted hue, the Strobe Light effect and the Alpha Glow effect (which is not activated yet here).

Here is another shot, same principle, but with activated glow


Close-up of the effects:

(One remark for picture above: Arithmic effect will be used later) For the Solarize effect I duplicated the nested layer with the fighter above itself and then cut out little chunks where it 'solarizes'.

where the marker (blue) stands, you can see the original nested layer below and on top the solarizing, which activates every now and then. recap note: DON'T FORGET TO MAKE KEYFRAMES AND USE THE CLOCK SYMBOL TO TRACK YOUR MOVEMENTS OF YOUR EFFECTS or it is all in vain

Try speeding up some of the copies, slow them back down. Try playing some with the opacity Try to time the 'blows' on the beat of the music. Finish and polish that a little bit up and you should get similar results with similar projects ;)


MMM-mmmmm Thank you Lord! Beautiful! To be honest, I'm really happy with the result. It already looks a lot fuller and active. As this post is getting a bit long i'm gonna continue some more analysis in the next clip. Maybe I can show some new stuff by then! TOITOI XOXO

135 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page