top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenske Sampson

17 Is It Finished Yet? FILLERSS

Updated: May 30, 2021

Hmm sorry, not yet! But the end is getting closer. It's going so fast. Faster than the speed of light ;) ;) ;)

GAINING CONTENT

One thing I want to discuss already for quite some thing is the search for content. It is terribly hard to find what I need. Especially for a song of 6.38 minutes and changes every couple of seconds. That's why I want to elaborate on two things: fillers and themes. FILLERS FILLERS FILLERS

By making these very dense parts, where literally background and front are constantly changing within seconds, I got stuck a lot. It was just too much. How can you find so much royalty free content and make it fit together. That was the hardest part. It did not take long to understand I would need to apply some tricks to make it easier for myself. How could I make fillers? It started quite easy, my first filler: the astronaut losing the toolbox in space. It is only one clip with some jump cuts. Easily earned myself 20 seconds there! Recap: Remember my first posts? There I told you it all started with this 'stupid' video clip. I felt a whole narrative of psychedelic space videos in it. :O

Second one: the space shuttle Challenger Check the full video here i'm your a space :) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fSTrmJtHLFU



Here you can see what I did with it:

Remember? This piece gave me around 20 seconds. I was also able to use it towards the end of the video (in the return or 'ritournelle'). Recap: in a previous episode I explained the basic techniques to make this image/video. I masked the ship frame by frame and put it on a background. The background is the same wormhole through which the block at the beginning of the videoclip was travelling. I explained how to transform and distort the image into another orientation. Finally I explained how to change the color (over time). Further on I used the video of the falling astronauts two times to fill up some blanks. Again around 10-20 seconds :D I sincerely hope you have seen this video a couple of times by now. I will keep spamming it until the very end, if necessary ;) But yeah, it saved me a lot of editing to use it on it's own to make a slow transition and a resting phase. Later with the shrinking wormholes if formed the perfect background. I only added it by accent after making all the rest of the layers. Suddenly the whole scene made sense, I progressed two times 10 seconds and filled inspired to make a complete new piece for the music video. It shows how strong certain filler videos can work on the mind!


Here is the link to the little gem: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bVNTNeNMH8Q




To keep it consistent I stayed within the genre of space to keep filling up the void. I ended up with also taking part of a man falling from space to the earth. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9oKEJ1pXPw



How did I change this image into this?


This is actually a very cool effect on which I experimented quite a bit. Let me teach you the way. THIS IS THE WAY This is how my timeline looks. As you can see it is not that complex!


So basically it is only one video copied a couple of times. What I did is press alt-key while selecting the clip to drag a copy aboven the orginal. Then i started cutting it up until I had some pieces left. Next, and very important, I displaced those clips and put them a bit more to the left or the right of the timeline. This way I would get some glitchy jumps. Sometimes the clips in the two top layers don't match at all with the clip underneath. It is in the overlap of the images that you get the trippy fragmented look. This is without the original clip in the background. (I put the background invisible by clipping othe the eye icon at the beginnen left of your timeline.)


these are the settings of the upper layer and layer underneath.

for the top layer I used only opacity effect and put it to 47% (play with it!) and used the Hard light blending mode. Next I used the Arithmic effect and changed the red value to maximum. The operator stayed on Xor (another cool one is MAX).


This is how it looks:

I did the same for the layer underneath, but instead of with red, I played with the bleu value. The effects panel looks like this:

The separate layer looks like this:


RECYCLING

The next filler goes back to the wormhole I used earlier and the warping block and astronaut. The video with the floating astronauts will be explained later in one of the following episodes btw!





So I decided that it is a good idea to recycle some used material. Do I really need to make 6.38 min of unique material? I think it is fair to re-use a little. SO that how the story went: I returned to my spaceship and the astronaut losing the toolkit. I have my final shot: the toolkit slowly returning to the bag it came from. Another final fillers should be about the rock, humans and technology (error). That brings me to a total narrative with different themes working together in the videoclip. Allright! This way I'm reaching my destination :)!



As the song fades out slowly and different synthesizers disappear over the last one minute and a half of the song, it was hard to find a fitting image. It should be not the most important scene, but a mysterious one. It needs to show something with multiple meanings. This way the viewer can interpret the video in an open way. I love to play with the idea of changing a viewers perception and mind by confusing him or making things unclear. I have a beautiful roommate who always gets angry when we watch movies which are unclear! The image I choose for is texture of a rock or meteor. It is shown in the hand of men and could refer to the toolbox. It can take the narrative in several directions, which all feel equally interesting to me. That's how it should be!


The stone is the toolbox The stone is technology The stone represents a relation between man and nature Did the guy turn into the stone? The video shows a relation between humans, space and errors The stone is a mix between the man and technology technology is an error Space connects everything. ... WHAT'S NEXT, CAPTAIN?

This was a shorter, more conceptual philosophical post about structure of the clip. In the next I will do the same and go deeper into the themes by showing how and where I used them. This will show a hopefully almost complete insight in the process and the narrative. Therefore I will talk about three themes: space, glitch (error) and videogames! After that I will also explain some of the final details in the video (mainly after minute 4) through analysis like in the previous episodes. Again, I will do this by explaining which techniques I used in Adobe Premiere Pro to do that. BEEP BEEP WE ARE REACHING DEEP SPACE GOODBYE LUF XOXO

98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page